1. [email protected] : Admin :
Mohammad Sahabuddin was elected president unopposed - English.DailyProbash.com
December 2, 2023, 9:37 am

Mohammad Sahabuddin was elected president unopposed

  • Update Time : Monday, February 13, 2023
  • 33 Time View

A member of the Awami League’s advisory council was elected to the post of president unopposed. Sahabuddin. He will take the oath as the 22nd President of the country.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal made this announcement in the Election Hall as the Election Officer.

The CEC said two nomination papers were filed in the name of the same person. Whose name has been submitted is Md. Sahabuddin Today was the scheduled day for selection of nomination papers. We have selected the nomination papers. Representatives of those who filed nomination papers on behalf of the candidates were present during the selection. By selecting the nomination papers, one of the two nomination papers is fully valid. As the Election Officer I have accepted a nomination paper as valid. Another nomination was not effective.

In his written statement, he further said that according to the notification issued for the election of the President of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh, the date of submission of nomination papers i.e. February 12, 2023 between 10:00 am and 4:00 pm, the nomination of only one person is valid after the examination of the nomination papers submitted, the Presidential Election Act, 1991 (1991 According to section 7 of Act No. 27, Mr. Md. Sahabuddin has been declared the President of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

The Awami League Parliamentary Party (ALPP) in a meeting held at Jatiya Sangsad Bhawan on February 7 gave Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina the task of finalizing the nominee for the presidency and she chose Mohammad Sahabuddin Chuppu.

Md. Sahabuddin is a lawyer by profession. Awami League is currently a member of the Advisory Council. He was born in 1949 in Pabna district. He has earlier served as a District Senior Sessions Judge and a Commissioner of the Anti-Corruption Commission.

He was the convener of Swadhin Bangla Chhatra Sangam Parishad in Pabna district in 1971. He directly participated in the Great Liberation War. After the assassination of Bangabandhu, he was imprisoned for three years. In 1982 he joined BCS Judiciary. In 1995, he was elected as the General Secretary of the Judicial Service Association. He served as coordinator in the Bangabandhu assassination case from the Ministry of Law. In 2001, he served as the Chairman of the Rapid Judicial Investigation Committee to investigate organized killings, looting and anti-human activities of BNP-Jamaat alliance leaders after the general elections in 2001.

He served as the President of Pabna District Chhatra League during his student life and served as the President of Pabna District Jubo League in 1973.

In 1975, Bangabandhu, the father of the organized nation, was imprisoned after the brutal murder of his family members. He served as the Election Commissioner of the last National Council of Bangladesh Awami League. He is a father of one son in personal life. His wife Professor Dr. Rebecca Sultana was a former joint secretary to the government.

According to the Constitution, the President can hold office for five years from the date of assumption of office. The current president. Abdul Hamid assumed office on April 24, 2018. Accordingly, his five-year tenure will end on April 23.

Meanwhile, if the post becomes vacant due to the expiry of the term of the President, there is a provision to conduct the election within 60 days to 90 days before the expiry of the term. In the light of these provisions of the constitution, the counting for the next presidential election has started on January 24.

In 2018, the last election schedule was announced on January 25 that year. Last date for submission of nomination papers was February 5, selection of nomination papers was on February 7. And the time for withdrawal of nomination was 10th February and the time for polling has been kept on 18th February. At that time, the Election Commission decided to complete the entire process within 22 days. But even then the current President was elected unopposed as there was only one candidate.

‘Former’ President Md. Zillur Rahman was under treatment in Singapore from March 14, 2013. Abdul Hamid served as Acting President. President Zillur Rahman died on March 20 that year. Abdul Hamid served as the interim president from that day. He was subsequently elected President unopposed on 22 April and was sworn in as the 20th President of Bangladesh on 24 April. Then Md. Abdul Hamid was elected president unopposed for a second consecutive term on 7 February 2018 and was sworn in as the 21st president on 24 April that year. According to the constitution, he could not run for the post again as he had held the office of President for two terms.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More News Of This Category
© All rights Reserved © 2022 www.Dailyprobash.com