1. [email protected] : Admin :
Chennai won their fifth title in a dramatic finale - English.DailyProbash.com
November 28, 2023, 6:55 am

Chennai won their fifth title in a dramatic finale

  • Update Time : Tuesday, May 30, 2023
  • 23 Time View

Chennai Super Kings need 10 runs from the last 2 balls to win. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team is in despair after coming last in a dramatic match. Who knew, there is still drama left! Ravindra Jadeja gave Chennai a dramatic 5-wicket victory with a six and a four in the last two balls of Ruddhashwas. Chennai Super Kings became the champions, shattering Gujarat Titans’ dream of a second consecutive title. Dhoni’s team won the title for the fifth time in the IPL. Only Mumbai Indians have equaled their 5 titles.

How many days has the IPL final been? This is the question that might come to mind while watching the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The final was supposed to be tomorrow. Due to rain it was brought to reserve day today. After Gujarat Titans lost the toss and scored 214 runs for 4 wickets, Chennai Super Kings came to chase.

After the two openers scored 4 runs off 3 balls, the rain struck again. As the game was stopped for almost two and a half hours, the match ended on Monday and passed most of Tuesday night according to Bangladesh time. That is, three days as a day — Sunday’s match ended on Tuesday! Many people wrote jokingly on social media, some test matches end in less time than this!

Be that as it may, the title was eventually decided by Chennai’s innings cut in the final. Under the DLS rule, Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team set a new target of 171 runs to win in 15 overs. Chasing that target, Chennai won by 5 wickets in the end. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team became champions for the fifth time in the IPL by completing the target of 13 runs in the last over.

The over limit of Gujarat’s bowlers also decreased due to Chennai’s over cut. Gujarat bowlers are restricted to bowling a maximum of 3 overs. And the power play is scheduled for 4 overs. Chennai’s two openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway got off to a good start scoring 52 runs in 4 overs of the power play. Gaikwad, who scored 26 runs off 16 balls, was defeated by Chennai in the 7th over.

Gaikwad caught the left-handed ‘Chinaman’ spinner Noor Ahmed. After 2 balls, Conway also made his way to the dressing room. Conway, who scored 47 off 25 balls with 2 sixes and 4 fours, could have narrowed Chennai’s ball and run gap a little more towards the end if it had been a little longer. But Noor Ahmad picked up two openers in one over to put Chennai under pressure.

To overcome the pressure, Chennai had to score quick runs as well as build pairs. Ajinkya Rahane was trying that with Shivam Dubey for the third wicket. Rahane was signaling a counter fight with 2 sixes in the 8th over by Josh Little. Chennai needed 59 runs in the last 5 overs to win. In such a situation, Rahane was caught and dismissed in the 11th over. After the dismissal of Rahane, who scored 27 runs off 13 balls with 2 sixes and 2 fours, victory seemed a long way off for Chennai.

Shivam Dube took on the challenge of chasing 54 runs in the last 4 overs with Ambati Rayudu. Dube sealed the match by picking up 15 runs with 2 sixes in the 12th over by Rashid Khan. A wicketless Rashid Khan with 44 runs in 3 overs disappointed the Gujarat fans. Both teams were in the match as Chennai’s target for victory came down to 39 off 18 balls.

In the 13th over, Raidu made the match easy for Chennai with 16 off the first three balls of Mohit Sharma but was dismissed in the next ball. As skipper Dhoni (0) was caught off the next ball, the match again swung towards Gujarat. But with Dubey and Ravindra Jadeja at the crease, Chennai still had a chance to win. Distance of 21 runs from 12 balls – In this situation, Gujarat pacer Mohammad Shami came to bowl the 14th over to stop Chennai. Chennai needed 13 runs to win in the last over as he conceded 8 runs.

Mohit Sharma bowled the last over for Gujarat. Dube and Jadeja did not give any boundaries until the first 4 balls, but Jadeja hit him for a six on the fifth ball. The target came down to just 4 runs off the last ball for the win. Mohit’s last ball was on Jadeja’s pad, Jadeja celebrated the win by hitting a fine leg boundary on the bat. Champion!

Dubey was unbeaten on 32 off 21 balls. Jadeja was unbeaten on 15 runs off 6 balls. Mohit Sharma took 3 wickets for 36 runs for Gujarat. Earlier, Gujarat scored 200 runs thanks to the excellent batting of the first four batsmen. Gujarat scored 67 runs in the opening pair before Shubman Gill got out in the 7th over. Chennai’s Deepak Chahar gave ‘life’ to the dangerous Gill in the 5th over. Gill, who scored 39 runs off 20 balls, could not make good use of the opportunity. Gill was the victim of a brilliant stumping by Chennai captain Dhoni off Ravindra Jadeja.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More News Of This Category
© All rights Reserved © 2022 www.Dailyprobash.com